Are you sure those aren’t poisonous?

A good portion of our acreage is this untouched overgrowth (eek). We have been trying to wrap our minds around some form of landscaping. Big ideas also require big budgets and big effort.

bushes

We see these tiny, red specks popping up everywhere. My husband, being from out here in the ‘country’ and more of a risk-taker, had no hesitation climbing right up to the bushes (I’d rather be prepared against things such as poison ivy and ticks).

A closer look revealed several wild black raspberry and wineberry (I had never heard of those before) bushes surrounding our little home! I won’t lie, my first response was… “Are you sure?” “You’re sure those are safe to eat?” “Are you sure those aren’t poisonous?” “How do you know they aren’t poison?”berries

He was sure, and I was delighted when he came back inside with a pile of juicy black raspberries! I’m more familiar with typical blackberries and don’t know if I’ve had a black raspberry before. They’re sweet little morsels and such a yummy treat on a summer day.

berries01

James 5:7-8 Be patient, therefore, brothers, until the coming of the Lord. See how the farmer waits for the precious fruit of the earth, being patient about it, until it receives the early and the late rains. You also, be patient. Establish your hearts, for the coming of the Lord is at hand.

A neighbor stopped to chat while walking his dog and admitted he’s picked the berries in the years no one lived here. I laughed and told him he can still do that for being an honest man, and there will definitely be plenty more. Now that I know what they are, I am waiting to get out there and pick some myself as they ripen. I am so looking forward to eating these raspberries sitting in what will be our patio. I cannot avoid feeling grateful for such a blessing we have been given to enjoy and share with others in the midst of all the wild brush.

 

 

Leave a comment